Keystone logo
University of Mauritius

University of Mauritius

University of Mauritius


About us

The University of Mauritius (UoM) is sited at Reduit, a small town in the heart of Mauritius. UoM was founded in 1965 with an essentially national perspective. At first, the university had three schools, namely Agriculture, Administration, and Industrial Technology. With time it has expanded to comprise five Faculties, namely Agriculture, Engineering, Law and Management, Science, and Social Studies & Humanities. To enhance its traditional face to face mode of teaching the university is making use of Innovative Learning Technologies like distance education and online learning. Over the years, UoM has evolved into being the number one University of the land, focusing on research and consultancy and the development of an undergraduate and postgraduate program of studies to meet the requirements of the Mauritian economy.

Vision and Mission of the University


To position the UoM as a research-engaged and entrepreneurial University.

This new vision empowers the UoM to play an active role in building the human, intellectual, business and social capital needed for our country to develop an innovation-based economy.

To achieve this vision, UoM has not only developed the tripartite relationship (UoM-Government-Industry) but is also engaging closely with the community into what is coined as a quadruple helix of innovation, as depicted below:


Mission Statement

To develop the eco-system for world-class learning, impactful and innovative research to thrive as well as to foster an entrepreneurial culture for the benefit of Mauritius and society in general.


  • Réduit

    80837, , Réduit